Unconfidential Sources

My turn to blog! I considered writing about indie publishing. But Joe Konrath, Hugh Howey, and Passive Guy have that more than covered. Maybe a piece on getting some writing done, with kids, during summer break. But there are already at least 108 million mommy blogs (go google ‘mommy blog’ if you don’t believe me). That, and I haven’t solved that puzzle, either. I asked myself, “What is something that nobody but me can write about?”

Ideas. More specifically, how I get ideas for stories.

I read the “Weird News” sections of online news sources. I’ve even gotten ideas from reading the Homeowner’s Association newsletter.

I write down my dreams. Sometimes, I get weird scenes, scenarios, or dialog. But sometimes, I get entire stories.

I listen to podcasts, like Mysterious Universe.

I read websites, like CryptoMundo, Who Forted, Coast to Coast AM (a little heavy on the conspiracy theories, but sometimes they have gems).

I watch shows like Unusual Suspects, Homicide Hunter, and Forensic Files.

I eavesdrop on strangers in public places. Shhhh. It’s a secret.

I take pictures of odd things.

I go unusual places, and love doing “off the beaten track” activities. I would recommend the sewer tour in Paris, if you get the chance.

Put all those things in the blender, then ask “What if…”

About Artemis Greenleaf

Artemis Greenleaf has devoured fairy tales, folk tales and ghost stories since before she could read. Artemis did, in fact, marry an alien and she lives in the suburban wilds of Houston, Texas with her husband, two children and assorted pets. She writes both fiction and non-fiction and her work has appeared in magazines and as novels. For more information, please visit artemisgreenleaf.com.

3 thoughts on “Unconfidential Sources

  1. Great post!

    I’ll read science journals and pretend I understand. Actually, what I don’t understand, I’ll create and then a sci-fi story is born.

    Also, I think it helps to have a sense of wonder, the “what-if.” If we all were Joe Friday (“just the fact, ma’am”) then what fun is that?

    Now I’m looking forward to checking out your conspiracy theorists websites. You are right, they are gems. My historical horror book 2 is based on one…

  2. One of the first things I do with kids on my school visits is play a “What If?” game with them to help them come up with ideas. I like to get ideas from my dreams too, but I write them down in the middle of the night and can’t always read what I wrote in the morning!

Leave a Reply

