My Favorite Things…European Trip Version

 

938

I just returned from a trip to Europe where I was in so many different countries, I had a hard time keeping track.  But I do clearly remember a day in Salzburg, Austria, home of The Sound of Music. So, with major apologies to Rodgers and Hammerstein, Julie Andrews, The Von Trapp Family, and pretty much the whole country of Austria, I offer you my version of My Favorite Things.

                        European Vacation…My Favorite Things (and some not so much)

Wine flowing freely and pastries so yummy

All the good food that expanded my tummy

Castles with turrets that look like gold rings

These are a few of my favorite things

 

Nice waiters bringing me hot apple strudels

Eating my plate of Hungarian noodles

Sailing and seeing swans spread their soft wings

These are a few of my favorite things

 

Learning to say, “Where’s the bathroom” in Czech

Flying first class, with no crick in my neck

The boy on the square, how I love how he sings

These are a few of my favorite things.

 

When the Coke’s warm, when there’s no ice

When I’m feeling sad

I simply remember my favorite things

And then I don’t feel so bad!

 

Knowing I don’t have to make my own bed

My pillows were fluffed when I rested my head

Playing on playgrounds with children on swings

These are a few of my favorite things

 

Seeing real art by Manet and  Van Gogh

Having the time to just go with the flow

Running around the towns free with no strings

These are a few of my favorite things

 

Learning the history of such different places

Seeing so many brand new smiling faces

Hearing the old timey chime’s jing a lings

These are a few of my favorite things

 

When the Metro is so crowded

And some French guy’s mad

I simply remember my favorite things

And then I don’t feel so bad!

 

                          Eind,  La Fin,  Das Ende,  A Vegen, The End

 

 

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Things…European Trip Version

  1. Totally loved it (especially the parts that I knew the hidden meaning of, like, mad French guy)! It must have been an awesome trip since it inspired such melodious rhyme..

Leave a Reply

