Why Social Media Will Never Replace a Warm Puppy

by Ellen Rothberg

20141103-215523.jpg

I was going to write about the amazing anthology recently published by Space City Scribes when a funny thing happened. My granddaughter spent the night with us last Saturday and like many grandparents, we believe that her mere being is cause to celebrate on my Facebook page. So, at approximately 9:20 P.M. on Saturday night I posted the picture you see here to my page. My experience with posting important things to Facebook like the book signing for our anthology on November 8 from 2-4 P.M. at Katy Budget Books has been a bit underwhelming. After all, I posted the absolutely stunning cover art from the anthology about two weeks ago and sat back, contentedly to watch the “LIKE”s roll in. I waited and waited . . . and waited. After about two hours, I had six “LIKE”s. And, one didn’t even count because it was from my mom’s cousin and she “LIKE”s everything. On this particular Saturday night; however, there must have been a lack of good tv because twenty minutes after posting, my little granddaughter and I had twenty-two “LIKE”s!

Well, you can imagine my confusion. The Anthology has action, drama, tension, history and criminal activity. My granddaughter has a little under four years of daycare to boast about. By 10:55 we were looking at thirty-five “LIKE”s and six comments. Of course by that time my granddaughter had gone to sleep and most normal people had turned their clocks back and also prepared for bed. Oh no, the “LIKE”s kept pouring in. By Sunday morning we were at fifty-eight and they were circling the country. We had “LIKE”s from my childhood pals in Brooklyn and “LIKE”s from school friends and colleagues; there were “LIKE”s from relatives and from people who hadn’t given me the time of day in high school; “LIKE”s from fellow writers and “LIKE”s from friends I didn’t even know I had. It was amazing.

My granddaughter is really cute and precocious and I wouldn’t trade her for the world, but how does she rank so well when Space City scribes has written a terrific anthology of Houston based stories to entertain and entice you. Surely a good read should measure more acknowledgement than a picture of a cute kid having a sleepover with her nana. That’s why social media will never be taken seriously as a marketing tool. Now, if I could just figure out a way to write my next book about a darling little shih tzu!

And just to make my point, Space City Scribe authors are presenting a workshop on Saturday morning at 10:00 A.M. at the Maud Marks library in Katy. The scribes will talk about everything Indie Publishing, from how to format ebooks to Indie publishing illustrated children’s books; from marketing plans to best practices for Indies. Don’t miss it.

4 thoughts on “Why Social Media Will Never Replace a Warm Puppy

Leave a Reply

