New Beginnings for Easter

by Monica Shaughnessy
easter-egg-1-1418636-mEaster is this Sunday, Passover begins this Friday, and everywhere, flowers are blooming, signaling the start of spring. It’s a time of re-birth, of new beginnings, of fresh starts and freedoms. How will you celebrate?

Besides eating a ton of chocolate (do I really need a holiday?), I’ll be attempting a fresh start of my own. I worry. A lot. About everything. And right now, I’m in a stressful situation that I can’t control. But instead of agonizing over it, I’m going to attempt to make peace with what I’m able to achieve and let go of the rest. This doesn’t mean I’m going lay down and give up. It just means I’ll try to remain calm throughout the battle because worrying never, EVER changes anything. It just makes you sicker. (and it makes everyone else crazy) I plan on reciting the serenity prayer quite a bit this week!

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,

The courage to change the things I can,

And the wisdom to know the difference.

In January, everyone’s all aquiver over resolutions. But come March or April, many of these fall by the wayside. We need a little push to rededicate ourselves to change. Spring blesses us with natural momentum – more daylight, better weather, higher spirits. Let’s use this to our advantage.

So be bold this week! Charge ahead! If you could start all over again, what would you do?

Get a degree? Leo Plass got one at the age of 99.

Learn to play an instrument?  It’s easier as an adult.

Pick a different career? Check out this amazing graphic of how many different jobs 5 billionaires had before making it big. (note: you’ll have to enlarge it to see the detail)

Okay, okay, I’m ending with some pretty lofty stuff here. Even if you just decide to clean out your garage or exercise more, you’ll be doing yourself some good.

Happy Easter / Passover / Spring!

About Monica Shaughnessy

writer

2 thoughts on “New Beginnings for Easter

  1. Love this post! Funny, I never took you for the worrying kind (hard working, goal oriented, generous, yes. But not a worrier.) I had the Serenity Prayer posted over my desk. It fell behind the desk, and now I can’t find it. I’m sure that’s some sort of terrible omen. 🙂 I love the idea of a fresh start in the spring. I have a few in mind. Good luck in remaining calm in your attempt to make peace with whatever it is. Great post!

Leave a Reply

