ComicPalooza 2015

by Artemis Greenleaf

WP_20150523_001_smallI am no longer a virgin. Well, a ComicPalooza virgin – those of you who know I have two kids might have been confused by that announcement. Since I have both Sthenno and Euryale (the two immortal gorgons) appearing in Exit Point, I decided to dress as a gorgon. I also wore my holographic reptile eye sunglasses that I got at Ripley’s Believe it or Not NYC. If you want to see how I created my headpiece, you can read the details at my blog. I sat with some of the wonderful people of the Houston Writer’s Guild and Skipjack Publishing. It was a huge event, with 40,000 people turning up, many in costume, some of which were amazing. Unfortunately, I didn’t get to attend any of the panels, but it looked like they had some great content. There was a dizzying array of vendors – books, comics, jewelry, art, dragon pets and much, much more. Next year, it’s scheduled for mid-June instead of late May, which works out so much better for me. It seems like half the people I know attended and had a blast. The people-watching alone was worth the price of admission. It was wonderful to see so many creative folks in one place.

Skipjack Publishing has recently released two anthologies of Houston Writer’s Guild writers. One is Tides of Possibility (Space City Scribes’ own Mandy Broughton is in this one), and the other is Tides of Impossibility (both Mandy and I have stories in this collection). After sitting around chatting with my fellow authors and seeing all of the costumed conference attendees walking by, I was inspired to make a trailer for my story in Tides of Impossibility. Those who have read Cheval Bayard or The Hanged Man’s Wife might recognize one of the characters in The Thirteenth Summer.

I’m already thinking about what I’m going to wear to the con next year. Hope to see you there!

About Artemis Greenleaf

Artemis Greenleaf has devoured fairy tales, folk tales and ghost stories since before she could read. Artemis did, in fact, marry an alien and she lives in the suburban wilds of Houston, Texas with her husband, two children and assorted pets. She writes both fiction and non-fiction and her work has appeared in magazines and as novels. For more information, please visit artemisgreenleaf.com.

One thought on “ComicPalooza 2015

Leave a Reply

