“Are you going to waste your entire vacation reading a book?”

by Mandy Broughton

Yes, my can’t-sit-still-for-two-seconds husband asked me that once. And my answer was, “of course.”

So in honor of summer vacation, July, and readers everywhere, I thought I’d post a few books I’ve been “wasting” on my summer vacation.

Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles Book 1) by Marissa Meyer

cinder

I love old ideas in new packages. And I think that Marissa Meyer has brilliantly reworked Cinderella into a futuristic society. Cyborgs, evil-moon-altered-human residents, and a wicked foster mother. Come on, what’s not to love? The ending—which makes you want to read book two, Scarlet.

Yes, read all three and I’m anxiously awaiting book four, Winter. Snow White sounds deliciously insane, which always makes for a fun, albeit in a psychotic kind of way, character.

The only complaint about the series is that with more characters added, it becomes more complex with various POV. But, hey, it’s a fun read. It’s so good that I abandoned my long-standing rule of NEVER reading the second book in a YA series.

Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles Book 2) is an emotional roller-coaster about Scarlet and bad-boy Wolf. Don’t worry, Cinder is also in the story.

Scarlet_final_USA-Today-117x162

Cress (The Lunar Chronicles Book 3) is different from the other two but still fun. I loved the development of Captain Carswell Thorne and Cress’s character was perfect for a girl locked in an orbiting satellite for years.

Cress-final-117x162

And Winter (The Lunar Chronicles Book 4) will be out November 10. UGH!

Winter-final

Broken Time by Emily Davenport

This is an old one (so old, I can’t find a good image of the cover). I pulled out another Emily Devenport book (Eggheads) re-read it and then decided to try Broken Time. I enjoyed both stories. They aren’t hard-hitting sci-fi but they are fun. She writes the book in a non-linear fashion, much akin to Connie Willis in Blackout and All Clear.

Siggy is the custodian in charge of mopping the floors on Monster Row in a Criminal Insane Asylum. Emily Devenport weaves interesting characters and I found myself not able to put the book down.

My only criticism would be sometimes she tells versus shows. But it is not enough to detract from the book.

Finally, I leave you with my old stand-bys, Dick Francis. Horses. Murder. What else could you want? Except more horses and more, I mean less, murder.

df_hardback_uk_underorders     df_hardback_uk_hotmoney     df_hardback_uk_whiphand df_hardback_uk_bolt

Tallow-ho! I hope you have fun wasting away the rest of your summer reading!

About mandybroughton

I write mysteries and sci-fi for kids and adults. Give me a character and I'll find the best way to put her in a mystery. Or kill her off. Depends on my mood.

Leave a Reply

